2019 County Executive's Award

C.J. Holler, Youth and High School Softball

Holler served as an assistant coach for the North County High School softball from the program's inception in 1990 until his death in September. That nearly three-decade tenure – which started under original head coach Sue Fitchett and continued under subsequent head coaches Brian Love, Bobby Boyd, Tommy Thompson, Linda Parks Chandler and Kelly Guarneri – saw the program win five Class 4A state championships.

"C.J. is a legendary figure in Anne Arundel County softball," Chandler said. "He was extremely knowledgable about the game and had a true passion for coaching."

Holler's legacy lives on through the C.J. Holler Scholarship fund, which was started by former North County coaches and players.

Holler was a 1963 graduate of Andover High, where he played football, basketball, and baseball. After serving a stint in the United States Army, Holler returned home to start a family and got into coaching–initially at the youth level with Greater Glen Burnie Softball.

He was the founding father of the Wagner's summer softball team, which was established in 1986, and played an important role in helping Wagner's capture three straight Amateur Softball Association state championships from 1987 to 89.

Holler, who worked for Delta Airlines out of BWI Airport for 36 years until his retirement in 2002, got into high school coaching at Broadneck high in 1984. He spent two seasons as an assistant to Fitchett at Brooklyn Park before moving with her to North County when it opened.

In 2017, Holler was presented with the Pascal Award for longtime, dedicated service by the Anne Arundel Coaches Association.

Previous Recipients

(click to enlarge and read)

2000 – Ed Wilson

2001 – Jocko Svoboda

2002 – Beebe Castro

2003 – Robert Pascal

2004 – Al Smith

2005 – Buzzy Platt

2006 – George mills

2007 – Fred Stauffer

2008 – Audrey Hall

2009 – Mike Gunther

2010 – Vince DePasquale

2011 – Mike Wagner

2012 – Bill Sabia

2013 – Rudy Brown

2014 – Bob Basil

2015 – Jack Conley

2016 – John Hamrick

2017 – Terry Colebrook

2018 – Ted Sophocleus